Onyx Klavierduo


Regular price €32,00

“These recordings are brilliant, as is the playing of the Onyx Duo, who are bursting with playfulness and creative joy on this debut album. When has Maurice Ravel’s Ma mère l’Oye ever been heard as beautifully, intimately and sonically as it is here? Mozart’s C major Sonata is also a great experience, because interpretation and recording technique combine to create a unique sound experience.” – pizzicato Journal about Classical Music, March 2024

From New York via Amsterdam to Paris and Vienna – on their debut album, the Onyx Piano Duo combines well-known piano works for four hands with exciting discoveries: the journey begins with Samuel Barber's Souvenirs Op. 28, followed by Leo Smit's Divertimento and finally leads via Maurice Ravel's Ma mère l'Oye to W. A. Mozart's Sonata in C major K521. The two pianists' captivating joy of playing makes these interpretations a very special experience!

The Onyx Piano Duo is praised by the press for its subtle sense of timbre, technically crystal-clear refinement and the unconditional fusion of the two musicians at their instrument. Whether at two pianos or four-handed at one instrument – their interpretations always focus on the joint understanding of the music. The desire to discover, the curiosity and the endless joy of making music together are characteristic of the young duo. Together both pianists studied with Bernd Glemser and Denise Benda in Würzburg and refined their skills with other important musicians such as Eberhard Feltz and Reto Bieri.

Blu-ray Pure Audio Formats

  • Hi-res Stereo, 96 kHz
  • Dolby Atmos, 48 kHz
  • 7.1.4 Auro-3D, 24 bit 96 kHz
  • mShuttle Stereo flac, 96 kHz

Additional Features (Pure Audio Set)

  • Stereo CD, 44.1 kHz
  • 28-page Booklet in German and English
si0323 by Immersive Sound Art, 2024