Benedek Horvath

Bach Goldberg Variations, The Fourth Voice

Regular price €39,00

It is said that Count Keyserling had a sickly nature, and for this reason he suffered sleepless nights. Music helped him to find solace, so he asked Bach to compose new pieces for his private harpsichordist Johann Gottlieb Goldberg, a student of Bach's eldest son. The count wished for Bach to write something uplifting which might divert his thoughts and cheer up his sleepless nights. Bach fulfilled the Count's wish by composing 32 variations and Goldberg then spent his nights in an antechamber playing on his harpsichord comforting the sleepless Count. Almost 300 yeras later the Goldberg Variations are still the melodies that give us comfort in our sleepless nights.

Included in this album is the short film “The Fourth Voice” by Benedek Horvath which is inspired by the music from the Goldberg Variations. “It is, for me, a very personal commemoration, and a call to live with care and to honour all the small things and apparently minor details of our lives. Through this record I hope to bring a bit of slave and reliance to the listener's souls” states the pianist.

Blu-ray Pure Audio Formats

  • Stereo, 24 bit 48 kHz
  • 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, 48 kHz
  • Dolby Atmos, 48 kHz
  • 11.1 (7.1+4) Auro-3D, 48 kHz

Additional Features (Pure Audio Set)

  • Stereo CD, 16 bit 44.1 kHz
  • Short film: The Fourth Voice (22:56)
  • 24 page Booklet
by IAN Records, 2022